Page 123 Meme

Alan Knox over at The Assembling of the Church just tagged me for this Meme. Here are the rules.

 Pick up the nearest book of 123 pages or more (no cheating!)

Find page 123

Find the first five sentences

Post the next three sentences

Tag five people

The nearest book to me was actually my Bible. (Hasn’t always been the case as of late). Page 123 in my Bible starts off with the second half of Numbers 13, when the spies come back after spying out the land of Canaan.

At the end of forty days they returned from exploring the Land. They came back to Moses and Aaron and the whole Israelite community at Kadesh in the Desert of Paran. There they reported to them and the whole assembly and showed them the fruit of the land.

I think most people know how the rest of the story goes. All the spies except Caleb and Joshua, give a bad report.  and the Israelites listened to the majority report. It used to amaze me that the Israelites who had seen the Lord work so many miracles, and deliver them so many times, would doubt that He would give them victory over the people of Canaan.

I’m not so amazed anymore. This story reminds me of just how far He has brought my family. Just the fact that my family is still together seems like a miracle as powerful as the parting of the Red Sea. Yet here I am with nothing between me and  and the total victory, healing and deliverance God has promised but a few giants and some strongholds, and yet I hesitate to advance and claim the victory that is already been won by Christ.

I’m supposed to tag 5 people but I don’t really have five people to tag. So I tag Jeff, Jonathan , and Graham

2 responses to “Page 123 Meme

  1. Thanks for the plug!!! See my post today for my results…

  2. Pingback: Page 123 Meme « Missio Dei

Leave a Reply

