Embracing Grace – Introduction

 My wife and I just started reading Embracing Grace by Scot McKnight. I’m going to try my hand at blogging through the book. My first impressions of the book are very good. The book is about the Gospel. In the book McKnight is attempting to present the full Gospel, a Gospel that goes beyond just- Jesus died for my sins, so that I can be forgiven and go to heaven some day.

In the introduction McKnight gives the following simple definition of the Gospel:

The Gospel is the work of God to restore humans to union with God and communion with others, in the context of a community, for the good of others and the world

I like this definition of the Gospel, it makes the Gospel about much more than ME, and the forgiveness of MY personal sins. It takes the focus of myself, and places it on others. During his earthly ministry Jesus, over and over again encouraged his followers to put others first, to live sacrificially, to take up our cross and follow him.

 Scott McKnight spoke to small group leaders at Northpoint Community Church, on the topic of the Gospel and Embracing Grace. He talks about the individualist Gospel that we have been taught and say

The Gospel we preach is deconstructing the Church

You can hear the whole talk Here. I highly recomend it.

What do you think about McKnight’s definition of the Gospel?

Would you add anything to it?

What do you think about his statement that the Gospel we preach is deconstructing the Church?

Leave a Reply

