Just a Broken Pilgrim

I wanted to start off the new year fresh. I decided to start a new blog, instead of continuing with the Colorful Journey. I want this new year to be a year of pilgrimage, a year of renewed desire to follow Christ. I have also recently been confronted with my own brokeness (sinfulness) and the need for me to acnowledge it, confront it, and deal with it openly.

My wife and I were sober for a long time. But recently we have allowed alcohol back into our lives, and it has cost us much. I have lost my place as leader of our church’s bus ministry, I have lost my witness with my children, my sister, and  the children who ride the bus, and so many more.

I have come to realize that alcohol is not the cause of my problems, but rather my brokeness, and my unwillingness to confront it, confess it and deal with it, or rather get out of the way and let the Spirit deal with it. I hope that as I post thoughts along the way I can help others as well, and recieve help from others as well.

I’m not going to make the same mistake I did last time and try to come with “big” or deep” posts all the time. I work a full time job, have a 40 minute commute each way, and have responsibilities to my family, and others. I hope to post a few days a week, but I am not going to stress out about it if I don’t. As always I welcome comments and discussion

7 responses to “Just a Broken Pilgrim

  1. I’m honored to have my blog attached to your page. I love people who are not pretending anymore. Did you read Windblown Hope the past week? He talks about how it is our strengths that keep us apart from God and how our brokenness is where we find Him.
    I, for one, intend to keep reading.
    Blessings

  2. Thanks, I don’t have the energy to pretend any more. I read the when I am weak posts, I actually ran accross them from your blog. I love the statement from part 2

    “Moments of the cross are NOT something to be bypassed. Moments of the cross are NOT a nice idea. Moments of the cross are NOT a place for the successful.”

    I wonder how much pain we would save if we took it to the cross first?

  3. I think we would never find ourselves there in our own strength.

  4. Aaron, let me be one to say that He loves you. Revel in that beauty that what we do doesn’t change that.

  5. Thank you Jonathan, I am just starting to realize that, I think I am finally starting to catch a glimpse of what Grace is.

  6. I enjoyed your last blog. Hope to see many more posts on this one.

    Shame about the alchohol. I trust you will get through it and know God will be with you all the way.

  7. hey aaron- just came across your blog and wanted to just tell you thank you for being so real and open. I hope life is going good and grace is getting to be a deeper reality, i know it slowly becomes so more and more for me, Hang in there brother look ahead to reading more of your journey.

Leave a Reply

